← Back to Departments Overview

The Hoboken City Council is the law-making body of the City of Hoboken. It is comprised of (3) three At-Large members elected to represent the entire City and six (6) members elected to represent one of our City’s six (6) wards. The Council monitors the operation and performance of city agencies, makes land use decisions and has sole responsibility for approving the city’s budget. It also legislates on a wide range of other subjects.

Committee System

Most of the Council’s legislative work is done in committee. It is there that proposed legislation is initially debated and the members of other government branches and the public are given a chance to comment. Each Council Member serves on at least two (2) of the Council’s eight (8) standing committees. You can view the full list and download the list of the committee members here.

Public Notices will be provided to the local media and posted outside of the City Clerk’s office bulletin boards.

Meeting Schedule

The Council typically meets on the first and third Wednesday of each month at 7 pm in the Council Chambers at City Hall and only once a month in the month of July and August. Meeting schedule

Meeting Documents

Information pertaining to the upcoming City Council meetings will be posted two (2) days prior to the relevant meeting and can also be obtained from the City Clerks office. Download documents

Here is most updated Council Rules and Procedures passed on September 16, 2015

City Clerks Office

The City Clerk’s Office maintains all documents pertinent to the administration of municipal government, provides support to the Mayor and City Council, administers elections, and coordinates information services for the public and provide information.

Find out more

Council Members and Terms


Sorry. No Resources found.

Knowledge BAse: FAQs

No items found.